News‎ > ‎

COH Proposing Changes to Trash Sponsorship Program

posted May 3, 2016, 1:36 PM by Memorial Super Neighborhood   [ updated May 3, 2016, 1:38 PM ]
The City Of Houston is proposing to eliminate the Solid Waste Sponsorship Agreement Program that provides a partial refund of taxes paid for City trash pickup to those HOAs who pay for private trash pickup.

District G believes we should email the Mayor and other Council Members stating opposition to elimination of the Solid Waste Sponsorship Agreement Program. Below is a list of email addresses.

Also, District G believes it’s very effective to speak at a public session outlining the hardship on HOAs and residents elimination of the program will cause. If you can speak on the issue at one of City Council's Tuesday public sessions, please contact the City Secretary to sign up in advance to speak (832.393.1100). Tuesday’s public sessions begin at 2:00 p.m. at City Hall, 901 Bagby, second floor. Any Tuesday in May before the 25th works. If you do plan to speak at City Hall, one of District G’s staff members will be happy to assist you with parking, directions, etc. Please call District G’s office at 832.393.3007 for assistance.


Mayor Turner
mayor.ST@houstontx.gov

Mike Knox
atlarge1@houstontx.gov

David Robinson
atlarge2@houstontx.gov

Michael Kubosh
atlarge3@houstontx.gov

Amanda Edwards
atlarge4@houstontx.gov

Jack Christie
atlarge5@houstontx.gov

Brenda Stardig
districta@houstontx.gov

Jerry Davis
districtb@houstontx.gov

Ellen Cohen
districtc@houstontx.gov

Dwight Boykins
districtd@houstontx.gov

Dave Martin
districte@houstontx.gov

Steve Le
districtf@houstontx.gov

Greg Travis
districtg@houstontx.gov

Karla Cisneros
districth@houstontx.gov

Robert Gallegos
districti@houstontx.gov

Michael Laster
districtj@houstontx.gov

Sponsorship Agreements Notice
In our review of the form of Solid Waste Sponsorship Agreement, we noted that Section 5.8 states, in part:

"Each renewal option may be exercised by the Director following the timely receipt of a letter from the Civic Association which clearly expresses an intent to renew for the one-year period following June 30 of the current Contract year. If no such letter is received by the Director on or before June 30, then the renewal option right shall expire."

Section 5.1 states that notices "shall be in writing and shall be given or be served by depositing the same in the United States mail, post paid and registered or certified and addressed to the party to be notified, with return receipt requested." Receipt is effective three days after deposit. The address listed to send the notice to is: Director, Department of Solid Waste Management, City of Houston, Post Office Box 1562, Houston, Texas 77251.

In years past, the Solid Waste Department would send out a new agreement that neighborhoods would sign and send back. Given the proposal to eliminate the Solid Waste Sponsorship Agreement Program, the City may not follow that protocol this year. As such, neighborhoods should consider sending in a notice “which clearly expresses an intent to renew” in May to Solid Waste in order to ensure that if the program is continued for FY2017, your neighborhood will continue to be part of the program.

You should review your current Sponsorship Agreement to verify the foregoing.

Shared Information
For everyone's convenience we can post the letters that you send to the City so that others can use them as templates. Send a copy of your letter to memorialsn16@gmail.com

Ċ
Memorial Super Neighborhood,
May 4, 2016, 6:48 AM
Ċ
Memorial Super Neighborhood,
May 3, 2016, 1:36 PM
Comments